PBA 3×3: San Miguel wins leg 5, TNT rejects three-pit bid

Why Bono SMB PBA 3x3

Ken Bono of San Miguel Bear tries to score against two TNT defenders during a PBA 3 × 3 game. PBA 3 × 3 photos

Manila, Philippines-San Miguel has defeated the TNT party and is the Leg 5 champion of the PBA 3 × 3 third conference.

Jeff Monde and Ken Bono took half of Bearman’s output in the 21-12 win over history-seeking Trapang Giger for the title in front of a Father’s Day audience at Robinsons Place in Antipolo.

Beermen’s first crown was worth P100,000 at this conference.

San Miguel never looked back after scoring a goal in a lay-up to Mande to break a tough 7-7 lead in almost half of the final.

Mandy’s basket bounced back 9-2 as the Bearmen were drawn for good at 16-9 in 3:31 minutes.

The clever San Miguel Gard, who recovered from a hand injury in the last conference, finished with seven points and a game-high nine rebounds, Bono added six, while Wendell Comboy and Bambam Gamalinda added five and three, respectively.

This was the first leg title for San Miguel since being at the top of leg 6 during the second conference, coached by Boyezi Jamar. Only Bono and Mande were part of that championship unit.

In the first round of the knockout stage, San Miguel knocked out Barangay Geneva 21-15 and then beat the Cavitex 21-20 in a hard-fought semi-final to advance to the final.

TNT, meanwhile, leaned on Vosotros’ 17-point blast in the quarterfinals, Purefoods, 21-17, in the semifinals before arranging a showdown with Terrafirma, 21-15, San Miguel.

The defeat was clearly a setback in TNT’s history of being the first team to win the Straight Leg Championship. Runner-up has rewarded the Finnish franchise with a cash prize of P50,000.

Vosotros almost single-handedly fought for the team, finishing with nine points and five rebounds, and Sambay de Leon was the only other Trapang Giga to score with three points.

Cavitex finished third, beating Terafirma 21-14 for the P30,000 prize money.


Third place

Cavitex (21) – Rivaro 6, Gallange 6, Saldua 5, Rangel

Terafirma (14) – Alanes 5, Taladua 5, Senal 4, Catuella


St. Michael (21) – Mande 6, Bond 6, Combo 5, Gamalinda

TNT (12) – You 9, De Leon 3, Akuno 0, Mendoza 0.

Related stories

Get the hottest sports news right in your inbox

Read on

Don’t miss the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to access Philippine Daily Inquirer and 70+ other headlines, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download by 4am and share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, please contact us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.