Christine Hallasgo marathon caps the SEA Games Athletics campaign with silver.

Christine Hallasgo in the women's marathon.  Sea Games Pool

Christine Hallasgo in the women’s marathon. Sea Games Pool

HANOY – Christine Halasgo captures the Philippine athletics team’s campaign at the 31st Southeast Asian Games at the My Dihan National Stadium here with a silver medal in the marathon.

Still in the final 600m debate, Hallasgo slowed down the rest of the way due to a cramp but became a soldier in the event he finished runner-up during the 2019 SEA Games in the Philippines.

Hallasgo winner Odekata finished behind Naibaho Elvina (2: 55.280) with a time of 2: 56.07. Vietnam’s Ngoc Hoa Hoang Thi finished third at 2: 57,350.

Hallasgore’s silver was seventh for Philippine athletics in these games, with five gold and 14 bronze medals.

The team failed to match or surpass its 11 gold, 8 silver and 8 bronze medals at the 2019 SEAG held at the New Clark City Athletics Stadium in Tarlac, but Philippine Athletics Track and Field Association head coach Joe Frey Chua still considers trackstar to be the best.

“This version of the SEA Games is by far the most challenging because of the effects of the COVID-19 epidemic. But with 1 SEAG record, 5 new Philippine national records set, and 8 personal records established, this could be considered a very successful campaign for PATAFA national athletes, “Chua said.

The team was led by Asia’s best pole Voltaire EJ Obina, whose gold-winning record set a new SEA Games record of 5.46 meters.

Other gold medalists in the men’s shot put were William Morrison (18.14m), Clinton Bautista, who set a new national record in the 110m hardless in 13.78 seconds; Eric Cray, who won the crown for the fifth consecutive 400m hurdles SEA Games, and Kayla Richardson, who recovered a 100-meter tiara (11.60 seconds) in the 2015 Singapore edition.

Silver medalists are Kyla Richardson (200m, 23.56), Hoket Delos Santos (pole vault, 5m), Janry Ubas (long jump, 7.73m), Aris Toledo (Decathlon, 7499), Sarah Dequinan (Hepri) Jump, 15.87 m) and Halasgo.

Kyla Richardson (200 m, 23.87), Joida Gagnao (5000 m and 3000 m, steeplechase), Alfres Braza (men’s 1500 m, 3: 56.35), Melvin Callano (javelin, 6’80 m), Somen (600 m) bronze Received a medal. : 39: 89), Ubas (Decathlon, 6977 pts), Bernalin Bejoy, Jesel Lumapas, Edgardo Alejandro, Jr. and Joyme Sequita (4 × 400 mixed relay), Jelly Paragil (100m hurdles), Aliana Nicholas (pole vol) Robin Brown (women’s 400m hurdles, 56.44 seconds),

Morrison (discus throw), Evelyn Palbrica (javelin, 49.07 m) and Bejoy, Brown, Alois Medina and Maureen Schreibers (4 × 400, women’s relay).

“The feeling of pressure, frustration, excitement and victory made every performance memorable. All the athletes have given their all and we can’t be more proud of that, “said Patafar Judith Staples.

Get the hottest sports news right in your inbox

Read on

Don’t miss the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to access Philippine Daily Inquirer and other 70+ headlines, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to news, download by 4am and share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, please contact us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.